UEFA Champions League Home Page Ronaldinho Gaucho Home Page
Favorites Add to your favorites
Site Map Site Map
Subscribe Subscribe to Ronaldinho's Blog

December 25, 2005

FIFA: Ronaldinho was the best of 2005

Share |

Ronaldinho earned his second straight FIFA World Player of the Year award for his amazing perfirmance with Brazil and FC Barcelona, beating out England's Frank Lampard and Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o.

Ronaldinho Gaucho won the poll of national team coaches and captains with 960 points, easily outdistancing Lampard, who had 306 points. Teammate Eto'o was third with 190.

"It's a great joy to be able to keep up this high level of performance the last years and I hope to be able to come back here over and over again," Ronaldinho said.

The Barcelona striker became the third player to win the award twice since its inception in 1991. Ronaldo of Brazil and Zinedine Zidane of France have taken the prize three times.

Brazilian players have earned the award seven of the 15 times it has been given. On Monday, FIFA honored Brazil as the best team for the fourth year in a row.